Saturday, December 29, 2012

Farquhar

In the mid-28th millenium there was a relative physicist named Farquhar who proved categorically that navigation is random.
Imagine.


Monday, December 24, 2012

Ship and Regiment, Part 10


We are constantly raising the next iteration of the regiment; by charter each is called the 302nd Wasteland Reconnaissance.

The redundancy is reassuring.















Saturday, December 22, 2012

Friday, December 21, 2012

Ship and Regiment, Part 7

Sometimes it takes more than five years, we have no means of communication with the ships prior to their arrival in orbit.
Several times a whole generation passed with no sign of a freighter. Several times two ships have presented themselves simultaneously.


Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Ship and Regiment, Part 5


We are beholden to this obligation: that every five years a freighter arrives in orbit, and Kalkovac will have raised another regiment to load into it.

Men, officers, equipment.












Monday, December 17, 2012

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Friday, December 14, 2012

Ship and Regiment


Schooner, launch, liner, sub-light container tug: individually there are monumental differences between the vessels that 
sporadically arrive to collect the Regiment.












Thursday, December 13, 2012

Talk 20


We never saw the Skoli again.

Then there was the Laurie Alabastar in 599; and then the Ruffine (603), the St. Bambi (606), the Taro Lomax (614), the Planar (619), the Honda Suzuki (623), the Pelo Strove (628), the Blemish (631), and the Organic Curiosity (638).






 `





 

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Talk 19


There was the voyage of the Cantibule in 584, the Herring Cove in 589, and the Skoli in 593. 















Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Talk 18


The wreck of the Aristauchade was shocking, but the next year another freighter came and then another six years after that, and then another and another and another.













Saturday, December 8, 2012

Talk 16


The Ejecta left in 567 and never came back. Then the Hakon five years later, and it also failed to return. And then the Aristauchade came 578, loaded up the regiment, and fell through the atmosphere burning.










 

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Talk 15


That was followed by the Circle Thrift in 558, the Quantum Migraine in 563, and the ill-fated flight of the Ejecta in 567.












Monday, December 3, 2012

Talk 14


Then came the notorious voyage of the PCH Looking Glass.

Year of the gods 554. Nasty bit of business.













Sunday, December 2, 2012

Talk 13


The first of the great transports was the Agatha Whetstone, and then in 544 came the Yubari. Huge ship. We filled it up with people and equipment and off it went.

That was the very beginning of the great cycle and five years later a converted tanker called The Myth of Chan appeared for transport. 

She arrived to much fanfare in 549. In those days the conscription was greatly celebrated.